Love Was Never So Scary

about ¤ codes ¤ join ¤ update ¤ fans ¤ night world ¤ home

The Night World Series

The first book of the Night World series, 'Secret Vampire' was published in 1996. Eight other books followed over the next two years, bringing the total of released volumes to nine by 1998. A final volume, 'Strange Fate', has been planned since then but has yet to be released.
Love was never so scary...

The Night World is all around us - a secret society of vampires, werewolves, witches and creatures of darkness. They're beautiful - and deadly - and it's so easy to fall in love.

The Night World law says that it's okay to hunt humans. It's okay to toy with their hearts, it's even okay to kill them. There are only two things you can't do with them.

1) Never let them find out the Night World exists.
2) Never fall in love with one of them.

These stories are about what happens when these rules get broken ...

The Night World Series: The Books

L.J. Smith

L.J. Smith has written more than two dozen books for children and young adults. She realised she wanted to be a writer sometime between kindergarten and first grade. and got the idea for her first published book while babysitting in high school. She wrote the book, The Night of Solstice, in between classes at the University of California, Santa Barbara where she received a BA in Experimental Psychology. She then moved to San Francisco State University to gain her MA in Special Education and worked as a teacher for several years before becoming a full-time writer.

Dreams and nightmares have always fascinated her and many of her books are based on her own nightmares and those of her friends. Since childhood she has been fascinated by the night and the way the ordinary world changes in moonlight. At times she stops in the middle of a particularly frightening dream and thinks, "This is awful. I sure hope I remember it when I wake up!" While she makes no claim to psychic powers, she is firmly convinced that streetlights go off at night when she passes. Ms. Smith likes writing about the supernatural because it’s a great forum for the battle between good and evil.

She lives in the Bay Area of California, but is happiest in a little cabin near Point Reyes National Park, which has lots of trees, lots of beaches to walk on, and lots of places to hike.

L.J. Smith: Other Books

Since the publication of her first book in 1987, L.J. Smith has penned over twenty young adult novels, all with a supernatural theme. Initially, The Vampire Diaries was envisioned as a trilogy but it was later expanded with a fourth volume and, most recently, a secondary trilogy, The Vampire Diaries: The Return. The Night World series was to end with the tenth volume, but this book has been delayed time and again and its publication date is currently unknown. All of L.J. Smith's other series are stand-alone and complete.

Findahl / Solstice

The Vampire Diaries

The Secret Circle

The Forbidden Game

Dark Visions

The Vampire Diaries: The Return

Short Stories

Companion Books