The Secret Circle Trilogy

Forced to move from sunny California to gloomy New England, Cassie is homesick - until she forms a bond with a group of teenagers at her school. This clique rules the school - no one dare cross them - but Cassie feels a strange kinship with them, and when she is initiated into their 'secret circle' she is both terrified and thrilled to be part of a coven of witches that have controlled New Salem for hundreds of years... But then Cassie falls in love. Now she has a tough decision to make: does she walk away, or does she step over to the dark side?

L.J. Smith

L.J. Smith has written more than two dozen books for children and young adults. She realised she wanted to be a writer sometime between kindergarten and first grade. and got the idea for her first published book while babysitting in high school. She wrote the book, The Night of Solstice, in between classes at the University of California, Santa Barbara where she received a BA in Experimental Psychology. She then moved to San Francisco State University to gain her MA in Special Education and worked as a teacher for several years before becoming a full-time writer.

Dreams and nightmares have always fascinated her and many of her books are based on her own nightmares and those of her friends. Since childhood she has been fascinated by the night and the way the ordinary world changes in moonlight. At times she stops in the middle of a particularly frightening dream and thinks, "This is awful. I sure hope I remember it when I wake up!" While she makes no claim to psychic powers, she is firmly convinced that streetlights go off at night when she passes. Ms. Smith likes writing about the supernatural because itís a great forum for the battle between good and evil.

She lives in the Bay Area of California, but is happiest in a little cabin near Point Reyes National Park, which has lots of trees, lots of beaches to walk on, and lots of places to hike.

L.J. Smith: Other Books

Since the publication of her first book in 1987, L.J. Smith has penned over twenty young adult novels, all with a supernatural theme. Initially, The Vampire Diaries was envisioned as a trilogy but it was later expanded with a fourth volume and, most recently, a secondary trilogy, The Vampire Diaries: The Return. The Night World series was to end with the tenth volume, but this book has been delayed time and again and its publication date is currently unknown. All of L.J. Smith's other series are stand-alone and complete.

Findahl / Solstice

The Vampire Diaries

The Forbidden Game

Dark Visions

Night World

The Vampire Diaries: The Return

Short Stories

Companion Books